1431 Sturt Street Ballarat, Victoria, 3350
Phone:   +61 3 53 311688

Media Awards

You are here: Home » Students, Parents & Staff » Arts/Music » Media Awards


2018 St Patrick's College Media Awards

St Patrick's College is excited to introduce a new format for our Annual Media Awards, where we seek to showcase the talents of our senior students and their incredible short films.

Previously known as SPAM (the St Pat's Award for Media), from 2018 the awards have been renamed.

The award for Best Film each year will be known as the Borell Best Film Award in honour of the Borell family who have a connection to the school stretching back more than a century. Chris Borell (SPC 2010-13) was the first (and to date, only) multiple winner of the SPAM award, having won in 2012 and 2013.

In 2018 we also introduce the Powlett People's Choice Award in honour of the Powlett family who have been long-time supporters of Media Studies at the College (and have also starred in many student films over the years).

The Borell Award will be determined by senior Media Department staff while the Powlett Award will be determined by the viewing public.

We invite all members of our community to watch this year's finalists which are featured on this page and then click on the link at the bottom of the page to lodge your vote for your favourite video.

Winners will be announced in late November.

We hope you lodge your vote for the Media Awards and thoroughly enjoy watching some of the incredible talents of our young student film makers.


Vote now!

Thank you for taking the time to watch the videos above.

Now, you can vote for your favourite by simply clicking this link.

Voting closes at 5pm on Monday, November 26.

Previous Winners

2005: Sanjay DeSilva Unclean mind

2007: Chris Smith Perceptions of Truth

2008: Ben Andrews Dues ex machina

2009: Rhys Sizeland Ruby

2010: Simon Gradkowski Dream on dreamer

2011: Darcy Tuppen Mongrel

2012: Christopher Borell Pine Grove

2013: Christopher Borell  Ignited Mind

2014: Louis Powlett Dinner Distaster

2015: Liam McAdie Joe Vi and the sandbag way to the moon

2016: Lawrence McCrabb This film is fake. Real fake.

2017: Zack Britt Stiltz