2020 Student Council announced

August 21, 2019


2020 Student leaders, from left, Vic Captain Max Waller, Vice Captain Finn Lappin and Captain Will Rothe.

St Patrick’s College is excited to announce its new student leaders who will fill the crucial roles on the Student Council for 2020.

Acting Headmaster – Wellbeing Mrs Elizabeth Ryan said she was incredibly impressed by the qualities of candidates who applied for a role as a student leader.

“Following a lengthy process of student voting, staff voting, written applications and interviews it gives me great pleasure to introduce the College community to the 2020 Student Council,” Mrs Ryan said.

To lead the Council will be our College Captain elect, William Rothe.

He will be ably supported by Vice Captains elect, Max Waller and Finn Lappin.-

Will is a day student from Ballarat who joined the College in 2015 in Year 7 after completing his primary school years at St Patrick’s Primary School, Ballarat.

He said he was in a state of shock when told by Mrs Ryan that he would become the 127th College Captain of the school.

“I didn’t know what to say when Mrs Ryan told me the great news, I felt really honoured and was in shock for a minute,” Will said.

“I am really looking forward to the challenge and am excited to be in this position.”

Like Will, Finn also joined the College as a Year 7 student in 2015 as a day student, also from St Patrick’s Primary.

Max arrived at St Patrick’s College in 2015 as a Year 7 student from St Columba’s Primary School, Ballarat North. He is the younger brother of Old Collegians James (SPC 2001-16) and Darcy (SPC 2013-2018).

Mrs Ryan also announced the team of House captains and vice captains who will form next year’s Student Council.

In 2020 the College houses will be led by the following:

 Nunan House

Captain Elect: Elijah Cross.

Vice Captains elect: Jasper Magri and Blake Scott.

Galvin House

Captain Elect: William Gilbert.

Vice Captains Elect: Joseph Freeman and Bailey McCabe.

Ryan House

Captain Elect: Angus Treweek.

Vice Captains Elect: Owen PearSe and Darcy Cosgriff.

Keniry House

Captain elect: Jack Sampi.

Vice Captains Elect: Griffin Andrews and Charlie Molan.

“On behalf of the College I would like to congratulate these boys on their appointment and pray the gifts of the Holy Spirit will empower and influence them in their model of leadership and decision making,” Mrs Ryan said.