Congratulations Drew Petrie

September 13, 2016

The St Patrick’s College Old Collegians Association would like to congratulate Old Boy Drew Petrie (SPC 1995-2000) on the completion of his outstanding career as a North Melbourne Football Club champion.

Drew was delisted by the club following its elimination final defeat last weekend at the hands of the Adelaide Crows. As has been widely publicised, Drew was not re-contracted along with three other senior champions of the club – Brent Harvey, Nick Dal Santo and Michael Firrito.

While there is still a possibility of Drew playing on again at another club in 2017, we still thought it was appropriate to acknowledge his fine achievements in the blue and white stripes.

Drew leaves the Kangaroos as a veteran of 316 games (including 14 finals) and 428 goals, having made his debut in 2001.

He has played the most senior AFL games of any Old Collegian of St Patrick’s College and has played the second most games for the North Melbourne Football Club, behind only Brent Harvey.

A former All Australian and Australian International Rules representative, Drew has also won the North Melbourne goal kicking award five times.

Along with all his on-field achievements, the OCA would also like to recognise Drew for the way he has carried himself off the field. Across the football industry he is acknowledged as an outstanding leader.

The OCA would also like to acknowledge the achievements of many other Old Collegians who have recorded milestones in the AFL in 2016. These include:

*- Jacob Hopper- (SPC 2014-15) for making his AFL debut, being nominated as a NAB Rising Star and playing in the GWS Giants’ historic first final win last weekend;

*- Daniel Rioli- (SPC 2012-15) for making his AFL debut for Richmond, being nominated as a NAB Rising Star and winning the Best First Year Player at the Richmond Football Club Best and Fairest night;

*- Oscar McDonald- (SPC 2011-13) for being nominated as a NAB Rising Star and playing some great games in defence for Melbourne;

*- Jesse Palmer- (SPC 2013-14) for making his AFL Debut for Port Adelaide;

*- Tom McDonald- (SPC 2010) for playing his 100th AFL game for Melbourne;

*- Martin Gleeson- (SPC 2012) for playing his 50th game for Essendon and then, this week, signing a two-year contract extension;

*- Shaun Grigg- (SPC 2001-06) for finishing 5th in the Richmond Best and Fairest Award;-

*- Brad Crouch- (SPC 2006-11) and- Josh Cowan- (SPC 2008-09) for making their finals debuts for Adelaide and Geelong respectively last weekend; and

* Former Essendon player and College Captain Nick O’Brien (SPC 2006-11) who this week finished runner-up in the count for the Magarey Medal, presented to the best and fairest player in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL).

The OCA would also like to acknowledge the efforts of Tanner Smith (SPC 2011-12) who was delisted by Fremantle after an injury plagued career netted four senior AFL games, and- Brenton Payne- (SPC 2010-14) who was delisted from the St Kilda rookie list.

Finally we also wish the best of luck to the Old Collegians who will feature in this weekend’s Ballarat Football League Grand Final. Congratulations to the following Old Collegians who will take to the field for the Bacchus Marsh Cobras in the match against Sunbury:- Alec Del Papa- (SPC 2005-10),- Hamish Coulton- (SPC 2015),- Tyson Shea- (SPC 2001-06),- Liam Mullen- (SPC 2006-11),- Lachlan Phyland- (SPC 2007-12),- Declan Phyland- (SPC 2005-10),- Simon Lafranchi- (SPC 2001-06) and- Kane White- (SPC 2009-14).

Congratulations also to current Year 11 student- Tom Lyon- who has been selected as one of the field umpires for the grand final.