Farewell to departing committee members and Board chair

December 13, 2019

St Patrick’s College held a Christmas dinner this week to thank our volunteers who serve on the Board and committees and to say a fond farewell to those who are stepping down from their positions.

In particular the College gave great thanks to Emeritus Professor Terry Lloyd who has stepped down from the role as Chairman of the College Board.

Terry, an Old Collegian from 1957-63 and a member of the 1963 1st XVIII, has been a board member since 2013, and chair since 2016. He has expertly guided the College in that time, ensuring continual growth and stability in a period of great challenge.

The College is very sad to lose Terry’s incredible leadership but is also excited to welcome current parent Mrs Jane Charles as the incoming Board Chair. Jane will become just the second female in the College’s history to chair the board.

The dinner on Tuesday, December 10 also offered the College the opportunity to thank two other departing committee members.

Dennis Foley (SPC 1967-72) was thanked for his incredible commitment to the College over a very long time.

Dennis has chaired the SPC Foundation for nearly two decades and stepped down at the beginning of the year.

During his time as Foundation Chair from 2000-2018, Dennis was also an ex-officio member of the Old Collegians Association and had great input in organising countless OCA events, including last year’s 125th anniversary celebrations at the MCG.

Dennis was also a long-time board member and was chair of the College Board in 2009-10.

Dennis is a former member of the Finance Committee and an Inducted Legend of the College. His four sons, James, Daniel, Kyle and Patrick all attended St Patrick’s College.

Finally, we also thanked Old Collegian Caius Ryan (SPC 1980-85) for his service on the College Finance Committee.

Caius, a member of the 1985 1st XVIII, has had two sons, Brenton and Daniel, graduate through St Patrick’s.

Caius served on the Finance Committee from 2012-19 and was chair in 2018-19.

Principal John Crowley said it was important to honour the great work invested by many volunteers on the board and on committees.

“Without these people and their great knowledge and experience, the College simply would not function,” Mr Crowley said.

“We are eternally indebted to those who donate back to the College and are always keen to hear from parents and Old Collegians who may wish to join our committees.”

Anyone interested in joining a committee at St Patrick’s College is urged to contact the Director of Community Development Mr Paul Nolan at pnolan@stpats.vic.edu.au

  • The College was also deeply saddened this week to learn of the passing of inaugural Board Chair and Inaugural Foundation Chair Mr Alan Heagney. Alan died on Saturday, November 30 at the age of 77 in Bathurst. We pass on our deepest sympathy to Matthew (SPC 1987-89) and Simon Heagney (SPC 1987-92) on the passing of their father.

Outgoing Board Chair Terry Lloyd at the 2019 Board and Committees Christmas dinner.

Dennis Foley was honoured for his time serving on the SPC Foundation, the College Board, the Old Collegians Association and the Finance Committee.

Old Collegian Caius Ryan was thanked for his time serving on the College Finance Committee.