Principal’s Message

August 20, 2021

by Principal, Mr Steven O’Connor

Semester 1 Academic Awards – Chris Nolan and Academic Endeavour Awards

During the course of this week I had the great pleasure of presenting certificates to boys who had achieved an Academic Endeavour Award and/or a Chris Nolan Award based on their efforts during the course of Semester 1, 2021. We have much to celebrate as a school community and in this context, it is important to remember that we are first and foremost a school; therefore, a place of learning and growth. It is important that we ensure that the St Patrick’s College community is a place where students are encouraged to think critically, to be curious, to explore and test knowledge and to develop a range of skills which will set them up for success in their adult lives and enable them to make positive and worthwhile contributions to the world.

It is very important to acknowledge those who have been identified as making consistent and positive efforts across their subjects through the Academic Endeavour Awards. The consistent effort of these boys is tremendous and I congratulate them and encourage them to continue to strive to do their best as they continue their learning journey at the College!

The boys who have achieved consistently strong results across their subjects in Semester 1 placing them in the top 15% of their respective year cohort were presented with a Chris Nolan Award. This is a wonderful achievement and reflects a combination of their ability and their commitment to their studies. I congratulate those boys who are received a Chris Nolan award for the first time at the assembly.

Chris Nolan, as a student at St Pat’s was fully involved in the life of the College and was admired for his fantastic commitment to everything he did. I know that he is greatly honoured to have this award named after him and that he continues to encourage all boys at St Patrick’s to work towards achieving their very best in the classroom, in their involvement in the co-curricular life of the College and as members of this wonderful community.


It is with great pleasure that I acknowledge the students in the list below for receiving an Academic Endeavour Award and/or a Chris Nolan Award at our recorded assembly this week:

Year Level Academic Endeavour Award Chris Nolan Award Academic Endeavour AND

Chris Nolan Awards

7 Cooper Beseler Beau Callanan Patrick Buttler
7 Jed Blood Codie Chapman Jacob Carthew
7 Taj Bobrowski Tyler Crane George Charles
7 Mason Bullen Eli Cudia Harrison Clark
7 Gurnoor Singh Dhinni Lachlan Huebner Thomas Cosgriff
7 Angus Fraser Cole Hutchinson Daniel Crockett
7 Dionisi Goodall Seth Hynes Ned Cummins
7 Kayden Lin Max Learmonth Finn Curran
7 Patrick McGreevy Lauchlan Logan Hudson Eales
7 Jack McMahon Myles Lovison Noah Eales
7 Thomas Mulcock Luis Maldonado Justin Goodison
7 Ted Murphy Patrick McKay Ashton Halsall
7 Songsin Namtho Joel Molloy Joshua Hayes
7 Daniel O’Brien Finn Russell George Heaton
7 Kobi Richardson Flynn Sandlant Noah Kargaran
7 Joseph Seketa Jacob Sinclair Tate Koleski
7 Harry Waight Lachlan Squire Archer Mohr
7     Blake Scott
7     Jeremy Simanjuntak
8 Victor Debast Jacob Bridges Alex Clark
8 Theodore Farrell Haymish Busscher Jensen Coelho
8 Jett Florence Cooper Clifford Will Flanagan
8 Cooper Glenwright Taj Coulter Harry Fraser
8 Riley Mahar Joe Foley Leonard Goodison
8 Ollie Martin Baxter Horsburgh Patrick Gowans
8 Liam McEldrew Max Johns Reuben Hackwill
8 Fraser Molan Lachy McPhan Amal Hari
8 Cooper Neil Christian Morrison Benjamin Hulse
8 CJ Richardson Xavier Morrison Noah Kerr
8 Josh Roberts Zavier Nunn Levi Lawlor
8 Alex Ryan Lenny Ward Owen Mahony
8 Max Sanders Kayden Williams Will McCahon
8 Deacon Towk   Aidan McDougall
8     Henry Reinehr
8     Kade Robinson
8     Nic Ruyg
8     Kristopher Stephens
8     Olin Stevens
8     Cody Torney
8     Paco Wong
9 Mason Black Nedd Bennett Mason Armstrong
9 Brodie Bull Jack Bennetts Jacob Britt
9 William Charles Tim Buckland Zac Dransman
9 Khye Erdody Hamish Carey Oskar Folkes
9 Gabriel Freeman Brodie Graham Josh Gray
9 Blake Hertog Charlton Hand John Hansen
9 Lachlan McColl Zach Koleski Sam Hansen
9 Joel Missen Sam McDonald Lachlan Hodge
9 Charlie Richardson Liam Morrison Thisen Jayasooriya
9 Jesse Saw Hunter Nairn Sam Miller
9 Parth Shah Paddy O’Brien Tristan Nijhof
9 Locky Thurling James Parkinson Ben Nixon
9 Wyatt Torney Lachie Pritchard Noah Quick
9 Ted Turnbull-Gent Jacob Rae Brodie Reardon
9 Nixon Webber Charlie Vanderkley Zane Rutherford
9     Thomas Stute
9     Rex Van Berkel
9     Jack Williamson
9     Eric Yang
10 Xavier Bennett Mitchell Collins Mike Bleicher
10 Jude Bristow Rohan Cosgriff Tom Bosworth
10 Lachie Brodie Patrick Kelly Alec Carthew
10 Eamonn Curran Jack Kovacevic Lachlan Cooper
10 Nicholas Eppingstall Luca Kraljik Noah Cudia
10 Ziggy Lee Nathan Ling Alex Fademi
10 Isaac Martin Luke Mihaljevic Campbell Gladman
10 Luke Missen Ted O’Brien William Hexter
10 Alfy Sabu Tom O’Loughlin Damian Irvin
10 Trenton Sands Edward Peucker Matthew Michalik
10 James Shaw Lochlan Rowe Matthew O’Brien
10 Lachie Sheridan Lenard Taylor Angus O’Keefe
10 Daniel Spiteri   Lachlan O’Keefe
10     Luke Ozols
10     Guy Ripley
10     Dan Stute
10     Oscar Watkins
10     Finn Watson
10     Sean Weigall
11 James Beaston Jesse Cairns Tony Begbie
11 Harry Chapman Sam Farrington Aaron Bennett
11 Edward Charles Ben Gibcus Charlie Bissinella
11 Tom Elliott Adam Griffith Will Burzacott
11 Mitch Hutson Alex Hamilton Toby Clack
11 Nyjo John Zac Kennedy James Clark
11 Lochie Kelly Thomas McGurk Zenon Czulij
11 Elliott Missen Matthew Wood Mason Gullick
11 Bryn Thompson   Nicholas Hontzogloy
11 Leo Turnbull-Gent   Matthew Jones
11     Benji Laursen
11     Ben Machin
11     James Molloy
11     Andrew Monaghan
11     Ben Mornane
11     Alister Nixon
11     Harley Passalick
11     Patrick Porter
11     Callan Shillington
11     Oliver Tribe
12 Zack Andrews Sam Butler Patrick Clarke-Thomas
12 Jack Bambury Daniel Collier Ben Collier
12 Christian Bourke Spence Jenks Thomas Collins
12 Jacob Cowan Daniel Lalor Connor Gaffney
12 Hamish Garner Jack Lawler Harry Graham
12 Ben Keen Jack McKenny Lewis Grigg
12 James Martindale Tom McKinnis James Harrington
12 Ben Nash Wes Quilliam Sean McMahon
12 Rorey O’Kelly Sam Tilley Hugh Ollerenshaw
12 Daunte Osman Kade Towk Alexander Pituch
12 Jordan Peters Pat Tyler Adam Severino
12 Henry von Burg   Jack Sheehan
12     Paddy Tuddenham
12     Darcy Williams


Well done to all award recipients!

Toby Clack – Premier’s Spirit of Democracy 2020 Essay Award

I was very pleased to meet with Toby Clack (Year 11) earlier this week to talk with him about the essay he wrote last year entitled ‘Evolution of Democracy’. Toby’s essay was judged as a winning entry and therefore was printed and published as part of the ‘Premier’s Spirit of Democracy 2020’ essay competition.

The publication with Toby’s essay includes a foreword from The Hon James Merlino MP, Deputy Premier, Minister for Education and Minister for Health. In his foreword Mr Merlino states that the ‘book contains 25 outstanding student entries. Each reflects the student’s writing and critical thinking skills, as well as their dedication to their studies’.

I congratulate Toby on his essay and his inclusion in the publication. As Principal, I am very proud that Toby has been recognised in this way!

Mr Steven O’Connor