New footy tradition to fill COVID void

July 20, 2020

Coaches and players prepare to compete for the first ever Taatee Cup. From left, Mike Silcock, Ethan Councillor, Ben Howard, Patrick Rea and Stanley Tipiloura will represent the Pumarali Dreamers, while Jye Lockett, Declan Phillips, Finn Lappin and coach Gavin Webb will be with the All-Stars.

In the absence of Ballarat Associated School Sport in Term 3 due to the COVID-19 crisis, St Patrick’s College is seeking to arrange a vast array of intra-school competitions for the coming weeks.

The first of these will be held on Wednesday, July 22 on the Main Oval from 3.45pm onwards when a special football match featuring Senior School students will be played.

For the first time ever a joint Indigenous/Boarding students’ team will take to the field against an All-Stars Team to compete for the Taatee Shield.

The word “Taatee” hails from the Wathaurong language and means friendship. It is hoped that the match will be played in this spirit and will become an annual feature at the College.

The Indigenous/Boarding team will be known as the Pumarali Dreamers. Again, the word “pumarali” hails from the Indigenous language and means “lightning and thunder” – a very appropriate term for a hybrid team.

Unfortunately, again due to COVID-19 restrictions, the College will be unable to allow spectators (including parents) into the College to watch what promises to be a hard-fought match. However, we will be live-streaming the game on the College Facebook page at

The All-Stars team will be coached by 1st XVIII coach Gavin Webb while the Pumarali Dreamers will be led by Director of Boarding Mike Silcock.

The following students have been selected as the lucky participants to play in this historic match:

Pumarali Dreamers

Ethan Councillor, Ben Howard, Patrick Rea, Stanley Tipiloura, Toby Jennings, Fraser Marris, Nick Hodgson, Tex Mitchell, Blake Scott, Josh Carlyle-Marks, Jack Sampi, Tyrone Holt, Delroy Tranter, Ned Payne, Jordi Cossar, Leyton Priest, Fred Batman-Baird, Alex Byham, Tom Gorman, Noah Chambers, Corey Bell, Xavier Hayter, Nick Cushing. Coach: Mike Silcock


Finn Lappin, Josh Gibcus, Declan Phillips, Jye Lockett, Liam Canny, Will Clark, Isaac Carey, Bailey Colligan, Jack Richards, Sam Butler, Isaac Lovison, Riley Constable, Kai Lohmann, Will Liston, Charlie Molan, Jamie Quick, Flynn Loader, Will Rothe, George Simpson, Jack Bambury, James Clark, Sid Rajesh, Paddy Simpson. Coach: Gavin Webb.

Umpires: Hamish Irvin and Isaiah Britt.